ANXIOUS PEOPLE


Okay, this is my first post to open the A.Y.F.K.M. Blog.

Today I was driving down a road in an Equestrian area close to home, where the speed limit is 30 MPH to protect the abundance of horseback riders in the area. Everyone, for the most part, tend to obey the traffic laws in this area as most of them live there.

However, this young punk decides that I was going too slow and makes the decision to pass me on the double yellow line (which is present everywhere in this area). Since he was riding my ass for 5 minutes prior to this decision of his, I really didn’t mind.

So he does and almost clips the front bumper of my vehicle. Of course he also flips me “the bird” as he passes. As tempted as I was to flip one back, I decided it was better not to. Of course 15 years ago I would have done so without hesitation. And 20 years ago I would have chased him down and dragged him out of his car and beat him with his own shoe. But alas a day has come when I simply take a deep breath, smile and say “yours is coming, don’t you worry.”

And did it ever. Not more than a mile down the road, as I am still “putt putting” along at the posted speed limit; I see the same dumb-ass kid on the side of the road getting a ticket. As the illicit smile came across my face, I was going to just go about my business and nod as I passed.

But no. This time I couldn’t help but to slowly pull over in front of them, get out and walk up to the officer (while he was still yelling at the punk kid), and laugh. Not a simple laugh or one of those little chuckles. Nope, not today. Today I let out a theatrical belly laugh from the bottom of my gut. I slapped my knee over and over and pointed at the kid; who by the way now was almost in tears.

As quickly as the laugh had come (even though it was intentionally mustered up), it was gone. Replaced only by a shameful nodding back and forth of my head as I looked at the policeman who had put his hand on his gun when all this began.

I then retreated to my vehicle, climbed inside and drove away.

Did this make me happy? Not at all. The vindication was real, but gave me little satisfaction knowing that tomorrow this same punk kid will probably do it again… this time maybe killing a beautiful horse and the poor soul riding it.

A THOUGHT: Speed limits are posted for a reason. Although we all know it is fun to mash the pedal down on the floor sometimes; try to think ahead of yourself – and make that thought the worst case scenario that could come from your actions. I assure you, if you do this, you will find yourself less likely to put the pedal to the metal.

About Chase Morgan
Chase Morgan is just your average, ordinary All-American writer. Chase began writing several years ago, but never published anything until the "Are You Friggen' Kidding Me?" blog launched in August of 2009. Chase simply got tired of standing around and just observing all of the craziness in the world, so this anxious writer sat down and wrote the first "Are YOu Friggen' Kidding Me?" article on August 19th, 2009. Now, any time something makes Chase say, "Are You Friggen' Kidding Me?", the issue get's transformed into an article. Chase is currently single, homeless and living under a bridge in South Florida.

One Response to ANXIOUS PEOPLE

  1. Now that is interesting, and you're still silly!!! LOL

Leave a Reply

