"I Don’t Need Boat Insurance!"

WARNING: This post contains graphical images that may not be suitable for young children or weak-stomached individuals.

The other day an associate friend of mine was going to go shopping for a boat. He had never owned one before so of course he called me (the avid lifetime boater) to go with him.

We spent most of the day at places like Bass Pro Shops, Marine Max and The Fisherman’s Boat Group. He was like a kid in a candy store. I thought he would never decide which boat he was going to purchase. He even had a list that he was writing as we shopped (so he would remember which boats he liked and where they were).

By the time 5 o’clock rolled around there were 27 boats on his “Potentials” list! He asked me to narrow it down based on my knowledge of him, his family and his recreational habits. Knowing he was a semi-wealthy man married to a gorgeous fake-breasted, blonde ex-stripper and had two teenage boys; I suggested a really fast multi-functional boat with lots of sunbathing room, a cuddy cabin and well equipped for fishing (I was thinking of myself fishing with him).

So we narrowed it down to just one and he drove 80 MPH back down the highway to catch the salesman before he left for the evening. We did, and the salesman was more than happy to stay late to finish the paperwork (worth about $3,200 in commission for him).

When we got to the part in the paperwork about insuring the boat, my associate friend turned to me and asked me, “Is it really necessary?” and added, “I am a careful person.” I couldn’t believe that a lawyer was even asking me this. I of course told him, “Absolutely! It is not an option.”

Being the cheapo that he is, he tried over and over again to sway my opinion on the need vs. cost of boating insurance. I didn’t back down, but he finally decided he would think about it and would shop around later for the best price on coverage. Once again I told him it was not a wise idea. But since I couldn’t get him to commit right then and there to a policy provided via the salesman’s referral, I just simply advised him to do it ASAP and NOT to use the boat until it was covered.

A week later I got a call from another associate friend of mine telling me what had happened…

My cheap boat buying friend had not yet secured an insurance policy for the boat but had decided that he and his family were going to take it out on a Saturday afternoon for it’s Maiden Voyage. The rest is disastrous. These pictures will show it better than I can tell it:


A THOUGHT: BUY THE FRIGGEN’ INSURANCE YOU CHEAP BASTARDS!

About Chase Morgan
Chase Morgan is just your average, ordinary All-American writer. Chase began writing several years ago, but never published anything until the "Are You Friggen' Kidding Me?" blog launched in August of 2009. Chase simply got tired of standing around and just observing all of the craziness in the world, so this anxious writer sat down and wrote the first "Are YOu Friggen' Kidding Me?" article on August 19th, 2009. Now, any time something makes Chase say, "Are You Friggen' Kidding Me?", the issue get's transformed into an article. Chase is currently single, homeless and living under a bridge in South Florida.

Leave a Reply

