"Dumbass Award" : January 2010

You’ve probably read on other blogs about the story that Lil Wayne is on the new cover of Rolling Stone and that he recently talked to the magazine about his impending jail sentence.  However we at AYFKM often like to actually look beyond the news and strike up a conversation about what’s really going on.

Those other guys will remind you that Lil Wayne is scheduled to be sentenced on felony gun charges this month stemming from a July 2007 arrest in New York as a part of his plea deal.

But what about Weezy’s quote about being shocked by the possible jail sentence?

“I didn’t know I was gonna be going to jail,” an Astonished Wayne told the magazine as if just learning of his impending fate. “This happened at the height of my career! Nobody knows the future.”

Um, HELLO! You were carrying an illegal handgun in New York City over two years ago and it took you until your October 2009 guilty plea to realize that you could actually do time?  Who’s his lawyer, Mickey Mouse?

This is the SAME Lil Wanye who was so outspoken on his ESPN Blog in his concern and THEN very educated commentary about Plaxico Burress and his illegal weapons case in the very same city.

I know I’m over simplifying it and I realize I have to take into account that Wayne must have believed that his world renown celebrity would some how allow him to transcend the law but this isn’t Monopoly and there are no “Get Out of Jail Free” cards.

I guess it also wasn’t until his third child that he realized “Oh so if I stick this…in there, there’s a possibility that 9 months later I can have on of these…cool!”

Admittedly, many folks have been very critical of Wayne, and with good reason. This is what kids are looking up to and the level that every rapper wants to be at?

Oh and just in case you all think I am being too hard on him…read the rest of his quote and somebody decode that for me please.

“This is not something you get no advice on,” he said. “This is Lil Wayne going to jail. Nobody I can talk to can tell me what that’s like. I just say I’m looking forward to it.” 

Oh really?!


“I look at things as ‘Everything is meant to be.  I know it’s an experience that I need to have if God’s putting me through it. So I don’t look at it as wrong, I just … I damn sure don’t look at it as right, that’s all.”

And that’s the news. Goodnight!

About Chase Morgan
Chase Morgan is just your average, ordinary All-American writer. Chase began writing several years ago, but never published anything until the "Are You Friggen' Kidding Me?" blog launched in August of 2009. Chase simply got tired of standing around and just observing all of the craziness in the world, so this anxious writer sat down and wrote the first "Are YOu Friggen' Kidding Me?" article on August 19th, 2009. Now, any time something makes Chase say, "Are You Friggen' Kidding Me?", the issue get's transformed into an article. Chase is currently single, homeless and living under a bridge in South Florida.

Leave a Reply

